Race Recap: Star Wars: the Light Side, 10k

About a month ago (I’m so sorry for my delay!), I flew out to California to participate in Star Wars: The Light Side race weekend.

I’m not a few fan of Disneyland half marathons but I did decide I was going to run the 10k. The course was entirely on Disney property with about 4 miles being in the parks.

Disclosure: I am a member of New Balance Rewards and cashed in my points for a race bib. (All those shoes at the outlet – yes I have a problem!)

I flew out Friday and landed with just enough time to spare to get to expo before it closed for the evening.

After quickly picking up my shirt and bib, I headed back to my hotel (which was less than a mile from Disney property) and got myself ready for the next day.


Race morning quickly arrived. A good Disney friend offered to pick me up and take me to the race. She got me and off we went!

Friendly reminder: don’t leave your bib in the car! Yes I totally left my bib in the car and we had to turn back…oops.

After the bib fiasco, we wished each other luck and headed to our separate corrals.


After what left like a long time, we were moving up and then crossing the start!

We covered from Disney roads before heading backstage. Running through the backstage areas are always neat and very nicely themed. Rebel signs were on buildings and we ran through a tunnel which had Darth “breathing” at us.

We entered California Adventure Park by way of Cars Land.


I think my favorite part of this park though was this view:


After running behind Mickey’s Fun Wheel, it was time to exit the park and head backstage again!


Then it was time! Disneyland!!! I decided I was going to start taking pictures and just enjoy myself so hooray random photo ops!

We entered through Toon Town:


Then pass “it’s a small world” and it was still all decorated:


Into Tomorrowland and we were greeted by:


Now comes my favorite section: Fantasyland!


Through New Orleans Square:


And lastly, down Main Street as we headed towards the finish:


On my way to the last backstage area leading to the finish, I ran into one of my favorite cheerleaders:


Seeing her was definitely a nice little boost. Last stop until I crossed that finish line!

I must say no matter the race or destination, the last mile always seems to take FOREVER!

But I finished!

Stay tuned for next week when I take you through my many Disneyland adventures from the rest of my weekend!

2 thoughts on “Race Recap: Star Wars: the Light Side, 10k

  1. Love this! I’m so glad you got to experience the marathon and that you enjoyed it! I was working the marathon and it totally looked like everyone was having so much fun! There is something quite magical about experiencing Disneyland in the early morning.

    Like

Leave a Reply

