New Year, New You!

2017 is here my friends and that means it’s the time for resolutions to be made…and broken.

I must admit I feel off the active train last year. I was participating in races but was not performing (or living) the way I wanted to.

My goals for 2017 are to: get back into a regular workout routine, increase the amount of time I can run continuously, and continue to be happy and healthy. There are some anniversary races on the calendar as well as new challenges and old favorites. It should be a fun year to follow along!

If on January 1, 2013, you would have told me I would have set out to start training for a half marathon that year, I would have laughed at you. If on January 1, 2014, you would have told me I would “survive” my first half marathon and continue, I would have doubted you.

Now in the first week of January 2017, I am reflecting on where I was, what I have done, and how far I have come in the past 4 years.

This is some of 2016


My advice to anyone out there following me or stumbling on my blog is to create a goal and go for it. You will be so surprised how much you can actually do when you set your mind to it. Yes, people will say “you can’t” or “you won’t” or “seriously”. Yes you will doubt yourself and want to quit. But eventually, something inside will click and you’ll be like “I can”, “I will”, “yes – seriously”. It doesn’t have to be pretty or timely or anything like that.

I can promise you training sucks. Being out in all different weather sucks. Becoming disciplined sucks. If it was easy, everyone would do it.

Make 2017 about you. Train for that 5k or even that one mile walk. Start writing out your short stories. Be brave and venture into this big, beautiful world solo for the first time (also something I have had to do and it’s actually not that bad!). Take the leap of faith you have been putting off – right now you are the only one stopping you.

Trust yourself. You totally got this. Set a goal and go for it. You will stumble and fall along the way but that truly only makes you stronger. I promise – that big dumb grin you get on your face after accomplishing whatever it is you set out to do is so worth it.

So tell that little voice in your head to shut up – you can, you will!

Step up to your starting line.

The hardest part is getting started!

 

Leave a Reply

