Around Town for the Holidays: Part 2

It’s almost here – Christmas! Which means…SANTA!!! I really am a big kid 🙂

I headed back up to Pennsylvania last week to tour one of the most beautiful places around – Longwood Gardens. If you have never been I highly recommend – the grounds are amazing! It’s an easy hour-90 minute drive from Baltimore. You can eat in the gardens but for cheaper options, there is a Wendy’s and Applebee’s just before you get to the gardens. Parking is also free once there but I would buy tickets in advance.

The gardens were transformed into a winter wonderland with beautifully decorated trees, light displays and hot chocolate! Even the kids love it! I was able to talk a good friend of mine into going with me and she brought her adorable little boy with her.

After touring the grounds, we headed into the conservatory to view the indoor garden displays (and to warm up again!). The gardens are just breathtaking. I have been many times and each time I am just blown away by the beauty. I do think my favorite time is Christmas because the gardens are just — wow!

Also, did you know, Longwood Gardens has made a list for having one of the best bathrooms to visit?!? Good to know because little ones always visit a bathroom and as an adult, it’s nice to know there’s a nice bathroom to use. (Seriously, there is a list somewhere…maybe I can find it)

While making the drive up (and back), we passed a festive light display at the Herr’s chip factory. It was just a really fun way to start and end our night of lights.

Next up for the holiday tour was supposed to be the Ugly Sweater Run. Unfortunately, the weather did not want to cooperate and Baltimore got iced. I volunteered this race in 2015 and I would recommend to anyone who wants to have a jolly jog in their best ugly outfits. It’s a lot of fun and the creativity is over the top! Also, you get a super warm and comfy beanie instead of a race shirt!

So with the weather being ick and Christmas season upon us – what is a girl to do? Bake of course! I spent the day making cookies for my co-workers. Bonus – my whole apartment smelled like cookies for the weekend!

img_6444

Cookies + candy = yum!

The weather is still cold but the ice has gone away so last night, I went to my favorite part of town for the holidays – Hampden! There are lots of delicious places to eat along The Avenue (or 38th Street) including: Cafe Hon, Dangerously Delicious Pies and The Charmery. Also a lot of cute shops so you can shop local and find something truly unique and different to give to someone awesome.

However, shopping and eating is not the major draw to the area this time of year – it’s 34th Street! One entire block is completed decorated in Christmas lights. I love this street. There is something distinctly Baltimore that makes me grin from ear to ear. From your very Baltimore Christmas to your traditional Christmas – it all can be found on this street. If you haven’t checked this street out, you must go! To avoid the most traffic and actually find parking, park north of 38th Street. I managed to find free parking on Falls Road and just walked to dinner and the lights.

In all the excitement of Christmas lights and dinner with friends, I forgot to mention some of the holiday things to do around town with your furbabies!

Petsmart was my go to for holiday festivities for pets. December 3rd and 4th, Petsmart hosted a stuff a stocking event featuring free treats for cats and dogs. I stopped by to pick up some goodies for the two cats and pup in my life (can’t forget them now can we?!) Toys were also on sale so my extended fur family got a little more spoiled since the prices were too good to walk away from.

img_6445

Not bad for a free treat event!

The following weekend, Santa Paws was at Petsmart. You could take your pet to the store and get a free photo taken. I have an adorable hamster at home and I just had to take her for this picture. She did much better than I thought she would however, it was confirmed – she does not like big animals.  But – the picture is just so cute!

img_6283

Wishing you a happy holiday weekend!

How did you spend the most wonderful time of the year?

Leave a Reply

