Recap: Women Rock! Chicago

Over the weekend I made my way back to Chicago to participate in the Women Rock Chicago race.

This race came to my attention in 2015 and unfortunately, I was unable to make the race last year.

I signed up in the spring and made the decision this would be a quick over and back trip. I paid for my packet to be mailed to me (it was an additional $30) so I would have it. I always try to have my packet ahead of time so I am ready to go on race day. Having everything I need ahead of time helps keep some of the pre-race anxiety at bay. Packets were mailed out around September 1st and I received my packet about 10 days prior to race day.

Race morning was a cool but humid weather day – luckily we would be running on Lake Shore Drive around Lincoln Park so there would be a breeze. The race village opened at 6am and my plan was to be there as close to that time as possible. Another way I keep the anxiety at bay – arrive early!

I wandered around the village to get my bearings and then checked my bag. It wasn’t super crowded. Most participants there were for the longer distances – the half or the 10k or were participating in one of the challenges. Team Ortho did a nice job staggering the distance start times so we all weren’t on top of each other trying to check in and get ready to run.

The half started at 6:30am. I watched the girls leave the starting area and then headed over to where the 10k was starting so I would be ready.

The 10k was set to start at 7am however I think we started closer to 7:10.

img_5819

I can’t say much about this course. It was definitely different from the course I did with the Run Mag Mile Half last weekend and it did have it’s pretty parts. But with both races, the course didn’t provide much distraction after passing it the first time. This course was also one big loop – however the 10kers didn’t have it nearly as bad as the half marathoners who had to do the loop between 2 or 3 times. I was a little jealous of the 5kers – I believe their course took them around the Lincoln Park Zoo and I know I would have enjoyed that!

Anywho, I finished with a time of 1:42 – slower than I was hoping but within my range. Once I crossed the line, I received my beautiful medal, post race snacks, my gear bag, and my personal fave – a celebratory drink! While it was non-alcoholic, it was a tasty treat.

With not much to see or do in the race village, I headed back to the hotel to clean up and re-pack for my trip home. But first I had to take a pic of the race swag:

img_5821

Long sleeve tech running shirt, pendant with Swarovski crystal, branded champagne flute, medal, and buff.

New for this year was an after party at a roof top bar downtown at the Godfrey. There participants were treated to a complimentary glass of champagne and a beautiful view of Chicago’s skyline.

Leave a Reply

