Recap: runDisney’s Virtual Running Shorts

For the last month and a half, I have participated in runDisney’s first ever virtual race series.

Participants could choose to run in one virtual event or all 3 events. You got to pick your course and run when you wanted too – no early wake-ups!

The first event started on May 15th and you earned a medal featuring Mickey’s yellow shoes. For this virtual run, I paired it with the Women’s Distance Festival put on by the Baltimore Road Runners.

WDF is two laps around beautiful Lake Montebello in Baltimore. The course is flat and fast. Runners receive a shirt, medal and flower and new for this year, the first 100 participants received a shoe charm (I love unique swag!).

IMG_5344

The post race features fruit salad, chips and granola bars along with Aspire sports drink and water. This race is unique as well because it not only offers typical awards but also random prizes for all participants. It’s truly a nice touch – especially for those of us who do not when the age group or overall awards!

The second event started on June 5th and participants received Mickey’s red shorts. To earn my red shorts, I participated in the Run for Roses put on by the Montgomery County Road Runners.

I’m not sure how I stumbled upon this race but it was a small, local, all women’s race and let’s be honest – I love getting flowers!

This race’s course is through residential communities and a park. The amount of road is less than the amount of trail you are actually on. This makes it a little more of a challenge since the terrains change fairly frequently.

Finishers receive a beautiful rose and a finishers certificate. Then you go into the park and enjoy bagels and fresh fruit while waiting for the awards ceremony. This race also offers the usual awards of age group and overall winners but also random prizes.

I ended up volunteering and helped clean up. One thing I really liked what volunteers were offered a shirt or a bag. I don’t really need either but since I received the race shirt, I opted for the bag (and it was nice having something to put everything I collected from the race in something 🙂

r4r

The last virtual race in the series began on June 19th. I chose to participate in my favorite Baltimore area race to earn Mickey’s white glove – Baltimore Women’s Classic.

This race is a first race for many women and is a great course through the Federal Hill neighborhood of Baltimore. Starting and ending at Rash Field, participants get to soak in the beautiful Charm City skyline!

Neighbors come out to cheer on runners and even provide the “beer stop” along with fun race signs.

Participants receive a shirt, bag, bondi band and various samples/coupons at packet pickup. At the finish, finishers receive a beautiful medal, rose and a much needed cool towel (this race is always a hot one – I love that towel!).

Post race finisher village includes shopping, samples, freebies, and some refreshing watermelon and salty snacks to recover from the run.

BWC 2016

I am so excited to have completed 3 wonderful races geared towards the female running community while earning my Disney medals! Looking forward to a very happy Disney mail day in the near future!

2a5d8efd-21c8-4f9f-9624-d027a7005241

Leave a Reply

