Disney’s Grand Floridian Salon

When I first decided to run the Star Wars – The Dark Side Half Marathon, I knew I wanted to show just a little of my “light side” in a fun way. I decided the best way to do this was with my hair.

I started to let my hair grow back when I first started running. I haven’t really chopped it off since. I have thick, curly hair that sometimes does not want to cooperate on race day.

I called the Disney spa line (407-WDW-SPAS) to see how they would direct my really random request. I explained I wanted “Leia” braids for race day and I had no idea how it could be requested/billed. The cast member directed me to the Grand Floridian Salon and booked it under “Flower Girl” hair.

I checked in for my appointment April 16th and got a double take – because I am obviously too old to be a flower girl. I explained what I wanted, showed an example from a previous braid I had in my hair, and told Gilbert (my stylist) to make it Leia like.

I have a lot of hair so to watch my hair go from a massive mess to a neat braid (or just tame) is always awesome to watch!

Leia Hair

Gilbert did an incredible job! It stayed up all of Saturday, survived the race on Sunday and even looked nice enough I kept it in for work on Monday. I got a lot of compliments on my hair and it was very nice not having to worry about it AT ALL during the race.

While it was a little difficult to sleep with, I knew what I was getting myself into and still managed to find a comfy way to sleep.

This service came to $42 ($35 for hair plus tip) and took about 30-45 minutes.

Leave a Reply

