Running for Charity

485784_296210593786728_1075572947_nWhen I first started running in 2013, I never thought I would run for charity. I looked into it a few times but couldn’t understand if I raised x amount of dollars and received my race fee and a hotel stay how the charity was going to benefit from my fundraising. It seemed to me that other people were just paying for my race under the “donating” umbrella.
And then, my friend introduced to me to charity running. She was going to participate in the Tinkerbell Pixie Dust Challenge at Disneyland in 2015. I was bummed I couldn’t join her. And then things happened that allowed me to join her for at least the half marathon. She was running with the group – Alliance for a Healthier Generation – and I reached out to them to see if they could add one more to their team. With one week to go before race day, they could add me to the team and I was on my way to fundraising $800 for my spot on the team.
What did I receive for that $800? Just my spot in the race (which was about a $200 race fee) and all the benefits registered runners received from Disney. No hotel. No extras. No frills. I did get to attend their appreciation luncheon but other than that the remaining $600 raised went to that organization. That kind of fundraising I can agree with.
I had such a great experience I thought why not do it again?
A few months later, I joined the team for Kellsie’s Hope Foundation which raises money for pediatric cancer patients – the money raised goes to try to improve the time they are in the hospital by making it a little more “normal” and homey. I lost my dad to cancer in 2011 and thought this team was perfect for me. No one should have to deal with cancer especially innocents who haven’t had a chance to live yet.
Kellsie’s Krew has been an amazing experience. So amazing I have signed up for race number 3 for them. I really cannot describe or find the right words to express what being on their team means to me.
.
I am so grateful for Andrea introducing me to charity running. It has been an honor to raise money for both of the groups I have run for. I am humbled by the outpouring of support I have received from those who have sponsored me.
As hard as fundraising is, I am so grateful I have taken the leap (again) to be on a charity team and make my finish even more meaningful!
To donate to Kellsie’s Hope, use my fundraising page! All proceeds go directly to children battling cancer!
Leave a Reply

